HogStats.com :: 1978-79 Arkansas Basketball Schedule

HogStats.com

Follow us on Twitter! Stats, facts, updates, news.

Players | Seasons | Coaches | Records | Season Stats | Series Results | Postseason | Cool Stuff | NBA | Donate

1978-79 Arkansas Basketball Schedule

Coach: Eddie Sutton
Record: 25-5 (13-3 SWC)

(Home: 9-2, Road: 7-1, Neutral/off-campus: 8-2)


Date Rank Opponent Result Location
TV
Notes
Tue, Nov 21, 1978 vs. Russian Nationals
L 79-81 2OT
Little Rock, AR
Exhibition
Sat, Dec 9, 1978 vs. Athletes in Action
L 68-75
Anaheim, CA
KHJ
Exhibition
Sat, Dec 2, 1978
Oklahoma
W 80-74
Fayetteville, AR
Wed, Dec 6, 1978
West Texas A&M
W 84-54
Fayetteville, AR
Mon, Dec 11, 1978
Southeast Missouri St.
W 90-51
Fayetteville, AR
Sat, Dec 16, 1978
Centenary
W 77-57
Fayetteville, AR
Tue, Dec 19, 1978
vs. Ole Miss
W 67-66
Memphis, TN
Sat, Dec 23, 1978
vs. Southern Miss
W 93-79
Pine Bluff, AR
Sat, Dec 30, 1978
#20
vs. Memphis
W 82-69
Little Rock, AR
Thu, Jan 4, 1979
#14
vs. North Texas
W 96-71
Little Rock, AR
Sat, Jan 6, 1979
#14
@ Houston*
W 62-61
Houston, TX
Wed, Jan 10, 1979
#10
Rice*
W 79-66
Fayetteville, AR
Fri, Jan 12, 1979
#10
Texas*
L 63-66
Fayetteville, AR
Sun, Jan 14, 1979
#10
vs. #3 North Carolina
L 57-63
Greensboro, NC
NBC
Wed, Jan 17, 1979
#11
@ #15 Texas A&M*
L 69-74 OT
College Station, TX
Sat, Jan 20, 1979
#11
@ TCU*
W 90-51
Fort Worth, TX
Mon, Jan 22, 1979
#11
Baylor*
L 67-70
Fayetteville, AR
Wed, Jan 24, 1979
#15
@ SMU*
W 79-67
Dallas, TX
Sat, Jan 27, 1979
#15
Texas Tech*
W 63-57
Fayetteville, AR
Thu, Feb 1, 1979
#14
@ #11 Texas*
W 68-58
Austin, TX
Sat, Feb 3, 1979
#14
@ Rice*
W 68-50
Houston, TX
Tue, Feb 6, 1979
#14
#11 Texas A&M*
W 60-56
Fayetteville, AR
Sat, Feb 10, 1979
#14
TCU*
W 108-65
Fayetteville, AR
Mon, Feb 12, 1979
#14
@ Baylor*
W 71-62
Waco, TX
Wed, Feb 14, 1979
#11
SMU*
W 71-55
Dallas, TX
Sat, Feb 17, 1979
#11
Houston*
W 78-58
Fayetteville, AR
Tue, Feb 20, 1979
#10
@ Texas Tech*
W 66-65
Lubbock, TX
Fri, Mar 2, 1979
#9
vs. Texas Tech
W 93-77
Houston, TX
SWC Tournament
Sat, Mar 3, 1979
#9
vs. #14 Texas
W 39-38
Houston, TX
SWC Tournament (Championship)
Sun, Mar 11, 1979
#7
vs. Weber St.
W 74-63
Lawrence, KS
NCAA Tournament (2nd round)
Thu, Mar 15, 1979
#5
vs. #13 Louisville
W 73-62
Cincinnati, OH
NCAA Tournament (Sweet 16)
Sat, Mar 17, 1979
#5
vs. #1 Indiana St.
L 71-73
Cincinnati, OH
NBC
NCAA Tournament (Elite 8)

* = Conference game • @ = Road game • vs. = Neutral site/off-campus game
All rankings are from Associated Press polls. Some game dates prior to 1942-43 are unknown at this time.
Exhibition game scores do not count in the overall record.

1978-79 season stats
(Game-by-game team stats)



3-pointers
Free throws
Rebounding
Name Yr. GP-GS
Min-Avg
FG-FGA
Pct
3FG-FGA
Pct
FT-FTA
Pct
Off
Def
Tot
Avg
PF
FO
A
TO
BLK STL
PTS
AVG
Sr.
30-0
1157-38.6
224-400
56.0%
0-0
%
212-248
85.5%
0
0
289
9.6
68
1
80
109
13
44
660
22.0
So.
30-0
990-33.0
128-238
53.8%
0-0
%
97-141
68.8%
0
0
95
3.2
61
3
63
56
19
27
353
11.8
Sr.
30-0
904-30.1
138-223
61.9%
0-0
%
47-83
56.6%
0
0
178
5.9
109
11
30
53
19
17
323
10.8
Fr.
30-0
753-25.1
97-191
50.8%
0-0
%
54-74
73.0%
0
0
138
4.6
72
1
38
54
11
10
248
8.3
Jr.
30-0
725-24.2
76-160
47.5%
0-0
%
46-64
71.9%
0
0
142
4.7
78
3
69
48
17
18
198
6.6
Fr.
24-0
438-18.3
63-133
47.4%
0-0
%
29-48
60.4%
0
0
94
3.9
48
2
25
42
2
5
155
6.5
So.
20-0
152-7.6
30-66
45.5%
0-0
%
18-29
62.1%
0
0
42
2.1
24
1
3
11
7
2
78
3.9
Fr.
23-0
354-15.4
38-66
57.6%
0-0
%
11-14
78.6%
0
0
29
1.3
39
0
43
24
6
10
87
3.8
So.
23-0
253-11.0
31-58
53.4%
0-0
%
13-21
61.9%
0
0
26
1.1
29
0
25
20
1
5
75
3.3
Fr.
14-0
188-13.4
13-26
50.0%
0-0
%
9-16
56.3%
0
0
12
0.9
20
0
17
17
1
4
35
2.6
Fr.
12-0
48-4.0
7-15
46.7%
0-0
%
3-12
25.0%
0
0
10
0.8
4
0
5
5
1
1
17
1.4
Fr.
0-0
0-0.0
0-0
%
0-0
%
0-0
%
0
0
0
0.0
0
0
0
2
0
0
0
0.0
Jr.
0-0
0-0.0
0-0
%
0-0
%
0-0
%
0
0
0
0.0
0
0
6
10
0
0
0
0.0
Fr.
0-0
0-0.0
0-0
%
0-0
%
0-0
%
0
0
0
0.0
0
0
0
2
0
0
0
0.0
Fr.
0-0
0-0.0
0-0
%
0-0
%
0-0
%
0
0
0
0.0
0
0
0
2
0
0
0
0.0
Team
0
0
0
71
2.4
0
0
0
Arkansas
30
6225
849-1587
.535
0-0
.0
540-753
.717
0
0
1133
37.8
557
19
404
459
97
143
2238
74.6
Opponents
30
6225
757-1743
.434
0-0
.0
364-523
.696
0
0
884
29.5
679
33
300
342
52
144
1878
62.6

Note: missing games, minutes, field goals, free throws,
rebounds & points for Nash, Bailey, Buckrop and Craft.


Home                  Share/Bookmark